Rain

I remember the loneliness.
Though the lack thereof exists,
the entirety fills the air.

Every step out of the door,
change. Change in not who I am,
only in time and reality.

Who did you want me to be?
I remember it all,
the rain falling,
just as I did for you.
I am not alone,
my dear loneliness.

You forgot that I
do not recall the loneliness
that you brought,
with every happenstance;
We let it die,
as if the rain killed the pang.

Dispersed amongst my confusion,
I knew not what I missed.
There was no change;
no change in you –
no change in me.

As if I fell, fell like the rain,
into your softness,
and you buried me in care…
The pleasant blur of gray clouds
and white-washed fibers,
justify our need for the solitary
moments of silence
mistaken for loneliness…

We’re only statues,
our outer clay casings
washed away,
in the swift movement of
an earthbound presence.

I found solace, truth;
truth in you, and truth in me.

Did you think I would feel that way forever,
feel that inept sense of morality and purpose?
My life has forever changed, and the rain continues,
continues to flow,
flow and erase the loneliness.

6 thoughts on “Rain

  1. I rated your poem I think your style is amazing. Please check out my poetry page on http://redgoldenchild.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/poetry-in-motion/

  2. Jingle says:

    fell like rain,
    with some growing pain…..

    lovely capture of loneliness…
    thanks for sharing!

  3. Jingle says:

    feel free to visit and comment for poets from our list.
    have fun!

    xx

  4. Olivia says:

    Very vividly written.. well done. So expressive and yet so beautiful. Deep words Dillon :D

    Happy Potluck xoxox

    http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/water-and-wind-and-an-un-grained-me/

  5. hannah says:

    you have taken my ability to comment on this. im positively stunned at how deep this poem is.

Tell me when you think.

