Ode to the Past

The thoughts of the past
linger over my mind,
like clouds on a rainy day.
Where did I go wrong?
Somethings just can’t stand
up to the things I once knew
and loved as if they were a part of me.
Faces of the old and new,
all vagabonds to my limitless
delusions of right and wrong.
Sometimes I just don’t understand;
the things I could’ve done, should have,
now gone and forgotten,
along with myself and the face I once held.
These memories tear through me,
reminding me of a once-and-forgotten lore
of priceless encounters of flesh and blood.
Evermore, things remain the same,
doors opening and closing at will
and hiding things I just can’t hold on to.
Relentless, to say the least.
Just and ode to memories to delusions
I no longer need.

3 thoughts on “Ode to the Past

  1. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/09/22/thursday-poets-rally-week-29-sept-23-29/

    hello, friend:

    I invite you to Attend Thursday Poets Rally Week 29, you are represented as one of the fresh poets to explore, follow this link, read the instructions,
    have fun reading others while sharing your own poetry.

    let me know if you decide to be part of our loving community.
    BEST!
    Happy Wednesday!

Tell me when you think.

